Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Keith Related: Tom Waits
Posted by: DEmerson ()
Date: July 17, 2015 17:58

I am somewhat new to Tom Waits - I knew more OF him, than about him really, On a whim, I picked up a used copy of his Rain Dogs CD the other day, as I heard it was one of his better ones. I'm listening to one of the last songs, Blind Love, and thinking 'man, that guitar sounds like Keith.' Sure enough, I check the credits to find it is Mr. Richards, and he is also on a few other tracks. I guess he has also appeared on some other Waits albums. I know he did the Little Red Rooster appearance with the Stones which I've seen and is pretty damn cool. I need to check this cat out some more. Some of his stuff is pretty bizarre, but some of it is pretty cool, in a warped kind of way. For any Waits fans out there, what might I try next?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2015-07-17 18:00 by DEmerson.

Re: Keith Related: Tom Waits
Posted by: Naturalust ()
Date: July 17, 2015 18:04

Check out his early 70's record "Closing Time". The tune Grapefruit Moon is one of the saddest and most beautiful things he has ever done.

Posted by: LeonidP ()
Date: July 17, 2015 18:06

I got his Bone Machine album because Keith sings on That Feel ... it's such a great song, but it got me to listen to the rest of the album, which is incredible! I got a couple other Waits albums because of this, including Rain Dogs, but still, Bone Machine remains my favorite.

Posted by: matxil ()
Date: July 17, 2015 18:09

Personally, I like Waits from the 70s better. As Naturalust says: "Closing Time" is very good. My favourites would be "Heartattack and Vine" and "Small Change". But indeed, "Raindogs" (and the one before "Swordfishtrombone" ) are very good as well, and I count them as his last really great albums.