Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12345Next
Current Page: 1 of 5
Is Charlie as great as people claim.
Posted by: keefriffhards ()
Date: July 3, 2015 15:04

All this talk on iorr about Keith, the two Mick's, Ronnie, and Bill etc..
Not much talk on Charlie. he gets over looked sometimes.
Any drummers out there knowledgeable on the subject of Charlie Watts drums.
To a novice like me he is great. Ronnie once said Charlie is an economist with his drum kit.
He certainly is good enough to have ducked out of many interviews and promotion duties over the years.
so i put it to iorr. Is he worth it.
Personally i love him and think he is, and always has been, IRREPLACEABLE.
But as i say, i am a novice when it comes to the Drums..
would be nice to put the record straight.. any of your views please..

Re: Is Charlie as great as people claim.
Posted by: kleermaker ()
Date: July 3, 2015 15:20

keefriffhards
To a novice like me he is great. Ronnie once said Charlie is an economist with his drum kit.
He certainly is good enough to have ducked out of many interviews and promotion duties over the years.

I like Charlie too, he is everyone's darling, isn't he? But he's no special drummer. Just average and indeed economic. Mostly he gets his instructions from Jagger (as can be heard on the famous bootleg with the recording of Sympathy FTD, alas mine has broken during the years).

Charlie is just so popular because of his low profile personality and his immense loyalty to both Jagger and Richards. Indeed, the 'perfect' drummer for the Glimmers.

Posted by: keefriffhards ()
Date: July 3, 2015 15:34

kleermaker
keefriffhards