Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 123Next
Current Page: 1 of 3
Vinyl - is it really better?
Posted by: stones1984 ()
Date: June 24, 2008 18:11

Shamefully i have never heard anything on Vinyl so i dont know if its worth my buying a few records & maybe starting a collection, lots of people seem to swear that the quailty is so much better - is this really the case, im not a musician or anything so wld i actually hear the difference ?

Re: Vinyl - is it really better?
Posted by: stone-relics ()
Date: June 24, 2008 18:22

For me, growing up in the vinyl era, I can definately hear the difference. Vinyl much warmer, and deeper sound. Digital media loses the warmth and harmonic blending of the sounds of the original recordings. For new stuff, that is RECORDED digitally, no difference between the CD or Lp. If you have friends that collect vinyl, go visit them and compare A to B a cd to its vinyl counterpart...say Sticky, Bleed or Beggars, and see what you think. One problem for some, is the expense of buying NM copies of vintage records. Its pretty expensive these days.

Good luck!

Posted by: terry ()
Date: June 24, 2008 18:45

I agree with the above, vinyl has a much warmer sound, cds sound harsh and tinny.I have keeped all my vinyl albums they are my heritage.I must have about 300 hundred stones on vinyl, lots of imports and bootlegs I used to love buying an album then read all the sleeve notes, with cds its just not the same.

Posted by: audun-eg ()
Date: June 24, 2008 18:55

You will of course have to have a decent stereo system, and a turntable that is high quality to get the most out of vinyl LP's. And not all vinyl pressings are good either. (Different pressings of the same record can sound very different.)

[www.reverbnation.com]

Posted by: stein ()
Date: June 24, 2008 19:05

To answer your question: Yes