Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Ian Stewart's finest moments?
Posted by: HonkyTonkJan ()
Date: October 1, 2014 15:54

I'm a long time lurker, first time poster. I wonder if I could have a few suggestions for Stu's finest recorded moments with the band.

I work as a tour guide in Scotland, driving a minibus and giving commentary on the places we visit to tourists from all over the world. I also select music to play on the tours, which has to be Scottish or have a Scottish connection (sometimes a fairly tenuous one!).

When passing through Pittenweem, Fife on the way to St Andrews, I regail my guests with Stu's story. The vast majority have never heard of him of course but find the story quite interesting. I had to decide to pick which Stones song to put on my playlist, and felt it had to be one where Stu's piano is at its best and most prominent. I had to check the musician's credits on all of the old albums to make sure I wasn't including a Nicky Hopkins or Billy Preston track. Bit of a problem for Tattoo You but I picked one of the earlier songs in the end - Down The Road Apiece. Great boogie-woogie piano coming out of one speaker from the rightful Laird of Pittenweem, and quite high up in the mix too.

Any other suggestions? I can add another couple of songs to give myself a bit of variety.

Re: Ian Stewart's finest moments?
Date: October 1, 2014 16:05

Posted by: liddas ()
Date: October 1, 2014 16:07

Last track of Dirty Work

C

Posted by: TheBadRabbit ()
Date: October 1, 2014 16:55

"Little Queenie" from Ya Yas

Posted by: hickorywind ()
Date: October 1, 2014 17:45