Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Guitar effect on 'Gimme Shelter'?
Posted by: theimposter ()
Date: March 22, 2010 23:17

Does anybody know what Keith's using on the original recording for the intro guitar? Is it vibrato or tremelo, and perhaps even what pedal he uses?

On modern-day performances it sounds to me as if he is using a fairly standard tremelo pedal sound but but I am no expert on effects.

Re: Guitar effect on 'Gimme Shelter'?
Posted by: His Majesty ()
Date: March 22, 2010 23:30

1 guitar with 2 signals(probably split with a y cable), one signal with tremolo effect the other without plus lovely reverb/echo thrown in. thumbs up.

The tremolo effect is most likely from the Triumph Silicon 100 amplifier. The same amp you see Keith using for Jumpin' Jack Flash promos and The Rock and Roll Circus.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2010-03-22 23:34 by His Majesty.

Posted by: theimposter ()
Date: March 22, 2010 23:40

Nice, thanks His Majesty!! I always thought it was more of a nice underwatery effect than your standard tremelo pedal. Most likely vibrato you think?

Man, I'd love to get my hands on one of these amps.

Posted by: NICOS ()
Date: March 22, 2010 23:45

Listen to the GS multi track recording, things will be clear how they mixed the guitars.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2010-03-23 00:00 by NICOS.

Date: March 22, 2010 23:56

theimposter
Nice, thanks His Majesty!! I always thought it was more of a nice underwatery effect than your standard tremelo pedal. Most likely vibrato you think?

Man, I'd love to get my hands on one of these amps.

Definitely tremolo ie volume fluctuation. thumbs up

Date: March 23, 2010 00:42

Right about the volume fluctuation.
Man, Bill's homemade bass sure looks funny in that picture.